We had a real treat of match-play golf over the last week with ideal weather bringing out the crowds every evening to follow each of the matches. It all came to a climax on Saturday afternoon in the Captain’s Prize Final, with Paddy Crowe turning on the style in the back nine to get the better of a very tough match-player James O’Brien 5/4. In the evening Liam Duffy served a fantastic buffet meal before the party began, from what I heard it kept going and going until the very early hours of the morning. Congratulations to Captain Alan Meskell on a very successful competition, to all this year’s prize winners and especially to Paddy Crowe on a great performance.

Manager of the Month, if not the Year, must surely go to Michael Keaty, ably assisted by Michael O’Brien. They steered the Junior Cup team to a great win over Cahir Park (3/2) in the East Area Final on Sunday. On Saturday they got the better of hosts Ballykisteen in R1 and Thurles in R2. With the final sitting at 2 a piece it came down to the last match, Tony sank a fantastic par putt on the 17th to clinch the decisive point (Adam Long, Eddie Ryan C, Patrick Ryan G, Timmy Dalton and Tony O’Sullivan). Thanks to all caddies and groupies for their support over the weekend. The next round is scheduled for Thursday 11th July. The time, venue and opponents are still to be confirmed.

Congratulations also to Eddie Madden who finished off the weekend with a great win in the final of the TF Ryan Cup on Sunday evening, beating Martin Hayes on the 18th green.

Good luck and best wishes from the Men’s Club to our Lady President, Olive Mulvihill, on her Lady President’s day this coming Wednesday.

Have you booked your bus seat for the Irish Open trip on July 4th? Please put your name on the sheet in the locker room or contact the Club to get your name on the list.

Upcoming Fixtures:

Tuesday, July 02 – Tuesday Open Singles.
Saturday, July 06 – Open Singles – Mike O’Brien – Nellie O’Brien’s Bar.
Sunday, July 07 – Crowley Cup – K T Flynn Solicitors.

Captain’s Prize 2019 – Mr Alan Meskell:

Winner: Paddy Crowe (13).
Runner-Up: James O’Brien (10).
Semi-Finalists: Trevor Flynn (8), Timmy Walsh (18).
Best Gross: Michael P Ryan (75 Gross).
Best Qualifier: Bernard O’Shaughnessy (21) (69 Nett).
Past Captain: Bernard Murphy (15) (75 Nett).
Seniors Prize (Over 65): Sean Jackson (9) (74 Nett).
Junior\Student (Bill O’Dwyer Cup): Ronan O’Connor (43 pts).
Visitors: Paul Hogan (73 Nett).
Nearest The Pin: Adam Long.
Longest Drive: Arthur Pierse.

Tuesday, June 25 – Tuesday Open Singles:

1st: Tom J Ryan (11) 45 pts.
2nd: Steven Murray (03) 42 pts.
3rd: Jon Murray (05) 38 pts.

Wednesday, June 26 – Two Club – 10 hole:

Winners: Kieran Aherne, Claire Conroy.
2nd: Sean Jackson, Lady President Olive Mulvihill.

Saturday-Sunday, June 29-30 – Open Singles- Noonan O’Cinneide & Co:



Winners 97 pts: Connie McInerney, Paddy O’Halloran, Liam Ryan, Ignatius Walsh.
2nd 90 pts: John Frewen, Michael Kinahan, Ted O’Sullivan, Alex Ryan.
3rd 87 pts: Liam Armshaw, Frank Dalton, Tom Hickey, Billy O’Reilly.
4th 86 pts (b9): Seán English, John Gleeson, Liam O’Dwyer, John Walsh.

Juniors – Monday, June 24 :

1st – James Kilmartin (31) – 42 points
2nd – Niall O’Shea (11) – 37 points

Friday Scramble:

Cancelled due to match-play.


4, 8, 13 & 20 – Jackpot not won – Next Week €20,000.
Lucky Dips: John Ryan (G), Mairead Flynn, Aoife Ryan (c/o James Ryan), Tommy Kinane (Fawnagown c/o Joseph B. Ryan), Michael O’Mahony (Dungarvan c/o Joseph B. Ryan).
Promoter: Timmy Walsh.