The words on our lips for the next week has to be our fundraising Club Classic. The Classic, sponsored by O’Grady Auctioneers, runs from Sat to Mon. We hope to get as many teams out as possible. To boost the numbers you might be able to include a couple of visitors on your team. Any combination Ladies/Gents are allowed on the team. Entry cost €25 per head with €15 for re-entry. The format is Team of 4 with 2 scores to count on each hole. 1st prize is 4 TomTom GPS Watches.

Joe Franklin shot a super 44 pts last Tuesday to win the Open Singles. On Thursday it took 42 pts to collect a win in our Seniors Open. The winners in each division were Declan Maguire, Alex Ryan and Tom O’Dea. The Open Fourball on Saturday was won by Tim Walsh & James Ryan with 46 pts. Sunday’s Club Singles was won by Adrian Byron with a nett 63, trailing in his wake were Eddie Madden 65 and Dan McKenna 68. Best gross was Michael P Ryan 73 gross.

We had a fine turnout for our Friday Scramble/BBQ. Scoring was red hot despite the rain. Thanks to The Duffy Grill for keeping all the troops well nourished.

In our Juniors, congratulations to Niall Carew who won the Rank Cup on Monday with a great 43 pts, Niall O’Shea was just one back with 42. In the President’s Junior Prize Paddy Kennedy (Jnr) took the honours with a very impressive 35 pts.

Fixtures For Week:

Tuesday, July 31- Open Singles.

Saturday-Monday, August 04-06 – Club Classic – Sponsored by O’Grady Auctioneers.

Tuesday, July 24- Open Singles:

1st: Joe Franklin (14) 44 pts.
2nd: David Cosgrave (Kilkenny)(05)42 pts.
3rd: Michael Murray (15) 41 pts.

Thusday, July 26 – Seniors Open.

Div 1.
1st: Declan Maguire (15) 42 pts.
2nd: Ger Dineen (15) 39 pts.
3rd: Paul O’Neill (Blarney)(10) 37 pts.
Div 2.
1st: Alex Ryan (20) 42 pts (back 6).
2nd: Seamus Ryan (16) 42 pts.
3rd: Laurence Thompson (Mallow)(17) 40 pts.
Div 3.
1st: Tom O’Dea (28) 42 pts.
2nd: Patrick O’Connell (Ballykisteen)(23) 41 pts.
3rd: Pat Ryan [SM] (27) 39 pts (back 6).

Saturday, July 28 – Open Fourball – Sponsored by Bill Daly Car Sales:

1st: Tim Walsh & James Ryan 46 pts.

Sunday July 29 – Club Singles – Sponsored by Caplan Construction:

1st: Adrian Byron (17) 63 Nett.
2nd: Eddie Madden (13) 65 Nett.
3rd: Dan McKenna (12) 68 Nett.
Gross: Michael P Ryan 73 Gross.

Juniors – Rank Cup:

Winner: Niall Carew (22) 43 pts.
2nd: Niall O’Shea (13) 42 pts.
3rd: Ronan O’Connor (34) 38 pts.

Friday Mixed Scramble:

Winners 29.6: Yvonne Daly Ryan, Pat Walsh, Larry Ryan.
2nd 29.7: Cathy Meehan, John Wallace, Michael Kinahan.
3rd 31.0: Priscilla Whelan, Anne English, John Breen Jnr.
4th 31.2: Nora O’Gorman, Mary Ryan, Sean Jackson.


6, 13, 18, 22 – Jackpot not won – Next Week €12,600.
Lucky Dips: Katie Rafferty, Ted & Anne O’Connor, Carmel Ryan, John Ryan (G) (Doon) and Donal Noonan.
Promoter: Mary O’Doherty.